Glimmerglass by Jenna Black

Glimmerglass (Faeriewalker, #1)Glimmerglass by Jenna Black
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

First off let me say this: USUALLY I do not like faerie books. I’m not sure if it is because of they way they are usually portrayed (flighty or menacing or occasionally slutty) or if it’s that I like a well defined “type” (shifters shift, vampires drink blood etc). So I went into this book hesitantly. My friend’s niece brought it to me telling me I HAD to read it. Guess what she was right. This book was AWESOME! Action packed with twists and turns, and every time I thought I had a character’s personality nailed down I had NO CLUE.

Dana is just your semi normal teen who happens to have a severely alcoholic mother. After being embarrased and taken advantage of one too many times she decides to find her father. She knows her father is living in Avalon and is a faerie of some sort. She contacts him and makes arrangement to go to him. She travels thinking that he would be just an average faeirie citizen right?

WRONG! He turns out to be a big deal. So big that he’s been framed and sitting in jail. Which of course means Dana gets into all sorts of trouble. Her Aunt tries to lock her up and a cute boy comes to her rescue. Just when she thinks she has found some Allies, another Jenna Black plot twist comes up. He is the son of her father’s rival.

Let me tell you that there is never a dull moment in this book. There are water witches, troll type creatures and KNIGHTS.

My favorite interaction in the book is between Dana and Keane who is supposed to train her to defend herself. IMHO he did not get enough face time in this book. His snarky attitude and snappy comebacks made me giggle. I am really hoping there will be more of him in the second book. Which of course I had to promptly go online and buy it for my Nook as I couldn’t wait for my local small bookstore to order it.

View all my reviews

About desertbkwrm

Slightly sarcastic, scifi loving girl who just can't seem to get things right most days.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

