The Windup Girl

The Windup GirlThe Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

It is very rare that I will not finish a book however this one has the distinction of being the first on this list. I usually love cyberpunk books. Apocalyptic fiction is one of my favorite genres however I feel nothing but ill will towards this book.

The author takes FOREVER to get to anything that resembles a plot. The “wind up girl” parts are graphically written for a cheap thrill and when you finally start taking an interest in the character (when she goes off the deep end) he changes characters YET AGAIN. By the point I read to I counted no less than 10 “main” characters.

I will not even try to finish this book.

View all my reviews

About desertbkwrm

Slightly sarcastic, scifi loving girl who just can't seem to get things right most days.
This entry was posted in Sci fi. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

